The truth about event items / pets IMO

I dont understand why they are "worth" so much i do understand you cant farm them and they are a once in a life time chance to obtain them unless threw a trade but the risk of dupes are rather high IMO. Id like to say i am a experienced trader and i have ran into some duped items. Not knowing if its a dupe or not is a killer because you A want to trade it quickly so it dosent disappear on you, or B add it to your collection and only show it in your tavern for display if your a collector. But back on track i dont understand why lets say a elf of the wand is worth so much if you can easily get a better wand. i know the event items were amazing pre patch but its post patch now so find them rather well useless. The Pets how ever are post patch and are amazing so those i do understand. But now here is my main concern as a trader i use to have most the event weapons when i found out that they could possibly be duped i traded or sold to tavern keep. ( yes i sold event items to the bank ) Some people PMed me saying it disappeared im not a bad guy so i payed them back. The way i see it is no one really uses them unless its a soda for marrogo glitch or bug or whatever it is. So why are they so expensive and why does everyone have so many of them. You would think if an item is expensive then there shouldnt be so many for instance my girlfriend has a 152^ oculus for 74 and its worth is high to me and her but if i were to offer it id get offers like a kryat, gunslinger, elf , and bound. maybe less. If something is worth alot that means there is not alot of them that are the same. Okay i have been ranting alot but here we go. Event WEAPONS not pets but weapons are the same as mana to the tavern keep. Think about it its just a currency in the game and if you dont have it you cant do too much but why trade event weapons for more event weapons IDK.