Sign in to follow this  
jemmajule

Orc minions in front of walls or instead?

I've seen orc minions put in front of walls and I've seen them behind the walls. Which one is better? Or just don't put a wall down. What holds more agro? I'm not good at knowing why Ogres stand there and wait to get to the harpoon they'll never reach, but what is the agro with the minions there now? And should they be there instead of the walls?

If they are behind the wall, they will not take as much damage as if they were infront of the wall, though the wall will still take damage while the Ogre will push enemies away from the wall, and still get rid of the enemies.

This is what confuses me, which holds more agro? People say the monsters will ignore the minions and start attacking the wall when its near, then again they say monster will attack what ever is closer.

I prefer an ogre in front of the wall. Ogres get healed (fast) by a nearby mage. Walls are not.

And in the unlikely event your ogre dies you still have a classic wall to keep em back (not to mention no nasty cobold surprises).

Here's some Aggro info for those who care:

-Ogres, and most other mobs, get aggro'd to whatever has dealt the most damage to them. Note that this is total damage dealt, not whatever deals the most damage per shot (though obviously whatever deals the most damage per shot will often also have dealt the most damage and thus draw aggro).

I'd say minions usually generate lower amounts of aggro than towers and players because:

-Towers have much longer range than Mages & Archers, so they start dealing damage far earlier and tend to rack up quite a bit of total damage dealt. Thus minions rarely pull aggro away from a tower. Regarding Melee minions, unless you're manually running them out to meet ogres they'll basically never pull aggro from a tower.