Sign in to follow this  
MushroomCake28

Any perks/tricks I should know before starting?

Hi,

I'm an old veteran, played a lot of DD1 and DD2. I'm planning on getting the game, even in its current state since I have always wished to encourage the devs. I was just wondering if any of the old perks and tricks still valid in this game:

1) I don't remember if it was in DD1 or DD2, or both, but I remember that defenses from a unit had a 25-30% boost if the hero who placed them is the active hero on the map. Is that still a thing?

2) Is the huntress still the DPS king (since there are no joker yet)?

3) Is close range DPS possible/viable now?

4) How do mobs behave with walls? Do they still sneak around times? Or is the aggro pretty good?

Thank you! Looking forward to play the game and to relive a big part of my childhood lol.

8 minutes ago, MushroomCake28 said:

Hi,

I'm an old veteran, played a lot of DD1 and DD2. I'm planning on getting the game, even in its current state since I have always wished to encourage the devs. I was just wondering if any of the old perks and tricks still valid in this game:

1) I don't remember if it was in DD1 or DD2, or both, but I remember that defenses from a unit had a 25-30% boost if the hero who placed them is the active hero on the map. Is that still a thing?

Yes, that is still a thing. Active heroes provide a huge boost to towers damage.

2) Is the huntress still the DPS king (since there are no joker yet)?

Huntress is good, but Squire is meta right now. 

+Huntress weapon from Alch Lab on Nightmare difficulty+ (Triple Threat, even 140 ups will devastate)

+Squire - You want to farm a good weapon (95% block), farm a dragon (summit wave 15) and some decent armor - you have invincible tank as long as you block stuff, his bloodrush can boost you something fierce so you can do some dps yourself if you put damage into the weapon.

3) Is close range DPS possible/viable now?