Older noob needing guidance in upgrading gear.

OK  how to ask this.  

I started playing dd2 the beginning of August when a guildmate (from a different tower defense that had stalled in development) started playing DD2 with his son.
So outside of the basics(place towers, kill mobs) I know nothing.
 I really have no idea how things like gear progression for drops work, and I know I'm letting the other players down and it SUCKS.

I thought that by equipping my best gold/orange gear it would keep improving across the board  but that doesn't seem to be whats needed.
I was in a game today where a player with equal ascension to me had 3 times the power I did.   When they asked me why my gear was so low I had to ask them to clarify.
To their credit they didn't just curse me  out, and despite it being mid game, tried to explain it to me on the fly.

They suggested taking one hero card and equipping it with the best blue cards(by value) I had as they dropped.
Does this sound right?  and would it work for the whole deck or just the Hero (Squire, Monk, Huntress, etc) so equipped?

I apologize to all the players that shook their head at yet another noob that barely had any clue as to how to advance when I joined their game,

Sincerely,
a recluse in the Nort' woods

Long story short: the advice you were given is solid, follow it.  If you want to read a bit, what follows is an explanation of why.