Sign in to follow this  
Demarki

Regarding the Lab Assault controversy through the eyes of a new player

I started playing this game a month ago and I have already invested 160+ hours into it. Even though I love this game I have to admit that it's hard and demanding towards new players that want to progress and eventually reach end game. I had to read a ton of guides, watch dozens of videos on YouTube, read multiple discussions on the forums and Reddit in order to realize how to beat specific maps, which hero abilities are good, the synergies between towers/buffs/auras, which weapons and pets are worth farming and how to upgrade them, how to gain XP and farm for loot more efficiently etc... the game really doesn't give new players anything on the platter and I am pretty sure most new players that don't want to invest much time and effort will simply lose interest and quit the game after a while.

So here I am, struggling to level my characters to 74 since leveling after 70 is so damn slow, all of them wearing Godly gear since I have barely found any mythical items and having a couple crappy accessories with ridiculously low stats(even negative ones). I am at the point where I can farm the normal campaign maps on insaneHC, but the newer campaign and bonus maps kick my ass even on medium/hard.

The best "trick" I read about in order to farm some Mythical gear was to complete the first wave in Endless Spires on NM/HC and loot the 4 chests for a chance at low level Mythicals, that gave an average of 2 items per 10 minutes so I was kinda fed up and bored with this method.