Sign in to follow this  
Cuddles

A returning players thoughts.

Okay, so, I started playing DD2 at the start of early access and played pretty extensively up until the game turned into placing 2 PDT's in every lane and pressing G every 50 seconds. Once I heard the full release was coming I decided I'd see what's changed - and I've been surprised by both good and bad changes. I figured I'd throw some of my thoughts/opinions out there and see what everyone has to say.

The good:

• The new loot system is miles better than the old one. My only complaint is that we really need iPWR back on gear so we can actually┬átell when an item is considered an upgrade (sell value is only really a true indicator when the items are the same rarity).
  • All defences being "usable" finally, although this joins hands with a complaint I have.
  • The shard system is pretty great, far better than passives in my opinion.
  • I'm a big fan of the ascension system (although it will mean that serious players are most likely going to be able to instantly crush the next highest difficulty released).
  • Some of the chaos enemies are quite well designed.

All in all, I'm quite impressed with the changes that've been made - I never expected things to be so radically changed.

The bad:

• Some of the chaos enemies are sloppily designed hard counters that ruin the diversity of the game, when they're clearly supposed to be trying to improve it. I was excited when I saw I'd finally be able to make proper use of all the hero's defences - but that excitement quickly faded when I realised that in truth I'd be pigeonholed into certain builds basically all the way up until I had good enough C7 gear to kill everything by simply looking at it.