Sign in to follow this  
Riyshn

Views on DD2 from a DD1 veteran

My thoughts on DD2 from the perspective of a DD1 veteran. Will mostly be focus on things that have changed or are completely new, and what I feel are good changes/additions and what seems like it's taking a step in the wrong direction. I won't be covering things that I know to be known bugs, only things that seem to be intentional design decisions or unintentional consequences of decisions. For reference, I initially played DD2 on the public release, but all I remember about it was being unimpressed. I started playing again just before the Trials update landed; I only completed about 2 maps on NM1 before NM was replaced by Chaos.

*Hm. The post editor ate all my formatting when I copied this in. Annoying. Also this ended up a lot more wall-o-text than it looked in Notepad++. Sorry about that.

UI

Basic gameplay UI is... ok. Nothing really truly amazing about it, but it's functional and no part of it seems to get in the way. A few minor gripes, though:

- The experience gauge continues to be present, even though it is not used after Lv50. Why not repurpose this for Ascension levels?
- Why does the pet ability on the hotbar not have a keybind indicator? Or a unique icon for each pet?
- This might just be me being weird about UI layout, but why are the wave/enemy count/minimap/DU/Daily Quests! elements all shoved over to the right side of the screen when there's still two perfectly good bottom corners not being used at all? Suggestion: move minimap to bottom-right corner, and combine the wave/enemy count and DU elements - quick and dirty cut&paste visual:
64f0be1fd2.png
- Why is Daily Quests! the only UI element that there is no config option to disable?
- The boss HP bar at the top of the screen worked great during the Campaign when introducing each of the special enemy types and Betsy/Harbinger. But it falls a bit short in Chaos when there are multiple 'boss' enemies up at the same time.