Complete Noob - where to start learning the basics?

Hey Folks,

I'm completely new to the Dungeon Defender franchise and feel a bit lost on how to figure out what I need to be doing (besides playing the game :). Is there a guide or anything around? I realize the game is changing all the time, and that guides might get out-dated, but there must be core concepts (builder? Are you supposed to swap chars mid game to use their stuff?) that don't change. Are there any youtube videos (I tried looking) that might give a nice intro to the core concepts? Honestly, I feel like I'm playing this game in the dark, with my hands tied behind me :)

Trendy, I realize this is still alpha but your tutorial in-game kind of sucks. There seems to be tons of stuff to know and almost no info. :( And my god, the amount of armor you get after like 3 maps is crazy. I have to spend 20 mins going through trying to figure out what to sell - which is much more difficult when I have no idea what the stats do and which are important to each class. /cry 

All that said, the game is fun, just very overwhelming to a noob with no clue how to play "properly" or what would even be defined as properly. 

Ah, well, your timing is rather unfortunate.

Not for a lack of community effort. There are plenty enough helpful players around who don't mind showing you how things work. It's just...

Anything we teach you right now might very well become useless in 8 days time.

There is a huge game-changing patch on it's way, you see. Everyone is going to be reset to level 1 and will have to learn the new system, same as you.

That being said, I would recommend focusing on Defense stats for your first character. Defense Power = damage from towers. Defense Speed = rate of fire from towers. Defense Health = the damage the tower can take before going boom.