Sign in to follow this  
konflict

huntress mine stacking vs lveling them up

hi

i am not a true expert in minimaxing characters, but in the past, i have experienced the following statement:

one upgraded tower is better than 2 non upgraded towers. this seems to remain true. 

however i have noticed one exception: huntress mines. on my character it is better from a dps perspective to stack level 1 mines instead of upgrading them ...

can you confirm you experience similar things? 

Well on most towers upgrading once means double the overall DPS and increasing range; this doesn't happen to traps, the range doesn't increase, the rate doesn't increase, only the damage increases so upgrading it gives it a little more health and it stays with a bit less than double damage at the cost of 50 mana.

So with 50 mana you could build 2 and a half traps, so yeah spamming is way better unless you're dealing with very specific areas or are limited in DU :p

@Omamba quote:

I'm a little dissapointed they removed the increase to speed/attack rate on upgrade for towers.

On most towers, yes.  Earthshatters still gain speed per upgrade.

If we assume upgrading doubles the damage of a trap, let's say you have 100 green mana and 2 non-upgraded explosive traps already placed in a lane such that an enemy will trigger both traps.

Current damage = 2T (where T = damage done by an explosive trap)

Upgrading both traps (50 mana each) = 2T + 2T = 4T

Adding 5 additional traps such that an enemy will trigger all traps = 2T + 5T = 7T

You can't go wrong with more traps?

yeah trap's damage radius does upgrade, but it hardly justifies upgrading the traps (beside sparing some DLUs), correct? 

damage radius can be valuable , but far less than doubling(at least) the amount of traps.

traps spam is the way to go i guess.